top of page
Japanese Ritual

About Japan

Japan is an archipelago of 6,852 islands that cover about 370,000 square kilometres (140,000 square miles). The climate is predominantly temperate, but varies greatly from north to south and depending on the seasons.


The four main islands are Hokkaido, Honshu, Shikoku and Kyushu. Tokyo is the capital and largest city with a population of about 14 million. Other major cities include Yokohama, Osaka, Kyoto, Nagoya, Sapporo, Fukuoka and Kobe.


24. Mie

25. Shiga

26. Kyoto

27. Osaka

28. Hyogo

29. Nara

30. Wakayama

bottom of page